EMWA Membership


Currently, the association has over 200 members (full and associate) in Addis Ababa, Amhara, Oromia, Diredawa, Harari, Southern Nations Nationalities and peoples and Tigray regions. Its members are women journalists, communication and media practitioners from government and private media organizations. The EMWA's by-law also allows interested people to join EMWA as associate members.

There are three types of membership:

  • Ordinary/Regular membership: is open for every Ethiopian women with a minimum of one year experience in media or communications ,with at least a diploma in the fields of Journalism & communications,
  • Associate membership: An Ethiopian women or man from any profession who supports EMWA's objectives can join EMWA as an associate member.
  • Honorary membership: An individual or an entity that accepts the association's objectives and that has provided considerable contributions to the association in terms of money and/or profession can be registered as honorary member on condition of acceptance by the EMWA General Assembly

Structure of the Association

The association has General Assembly, Executive board composed of seven members and a secretariat. The general assembly is the supreme body of EMWA, and the executive board is the next governing body of the association